Welcome to the Wizard101 Message Boards

Player Guide
Fansites
News
Game Updates
Help

Follow important game updates on Twitter @Wizard101 and @KI_Alerts, and Facebook!

For all account questions and concerns, contact Customer Support.

By posting on the Wizard101 Message Boards you agree to the Code of Conduct.

Pet Hatching Advice

AuthorMessage
Survivor
Jun 25, 2013
I'm a noob when it comes to pet hatching, but I have a question for the more experienced players...

I have been trying to breed a 3 damage 2 resist pet for my character. Each time I hatch, I pick a pet with all those traits. I started with a first gen that wasn't great, but it had the +6 any damage, so I figured it was a good start. Then I hatched a bird with a few of the right traits, but it soon had suboptimal ones. I hatched again getting an opossum, which went much better. The first 3 traits were perfect (+10 school damage, +6 school damage, +10 resist) but then the 4th was a deferent school's crit. I then hatched another time, but the first trait was another school's damage.

Am I better off hatching back from my other pet where I know I have 3 good traits, or should I go with the new pet since it has had now 3 hatchings with parents of the optimal traits compared to the other pet's only 2?

Thanks for the help!
-Justin, King of the Squids

Survivor
Sep 07, 2017
I have the best luck hatching only with pets that I know what talents it has in its gene pool; I avoid hatching with random pets that may be polluted with unwanted stats. Nothing worse than getting a useless spell card at mega! Maybe work with the ones you have so that you can bring out the best in them. good luck!

Survivor
Feb 11, 2011
Heyo Squid King,